One thing I’ve learned directing my second short film is that management of the crew, actors and the DOP is essential for creating life on screen as desired by you. I’ve only looked at directing from a skewed perspective of it being a creative desire to infuse life into 24 frames a second. Never have I ever looked at it from the production point of view which requires you to deal with inner politics, logistics, motivation level of the participants.

Inability to find a balance between the management and the creative aspect smashes into each other and leads up to a point where sometimes I lost track of the creativity that could go on the screen like focussing on actor’s performance, changing the dialogues to suit needs or changing the blocking. The creativity got undermined because I was trying to handle the management side of things, mainly getting the cinematographers on the same page as I and trying to perfect the moment on screen from the perspective of the camera.

The more I was involved in the camera part of it the more I felt that I was giving the actors the leeway to not perform better. I stopped looking at their performance for a while and started to focus on if the camera movements have turned out as per plan. This distinction that I could not make is a mark of failure that I will try to improve upon the next time.

The only solution I can think of it is to delegate the management part of it and not get too involved in it. To prepare for a mock shoot for which the shot division should be done beforehand. To do the mock shoot and fix the story and the technique of the camera there and then and then on the shoot to only focus on the performance of the actors and how the blocking can be done adequately.

As I start the post-production of the short film, I am mulling more over the production part of it. I hope that the next time the problems decrease and solutions increase. I hope that I can balance it all.

